PDA

View Full Version : Aflac "Maternity" insurance, deliver JUST before the 10 month mark?

heatherouaf
01-27-2008, 09:53 PM
Just curious if anyone knows... I have the Aflac supplemental insurance, it won't pay out for a baby until AFTER July 4th. My due date is July 1st, go figure! I called the sales agent, she said that if I'm induced for medical reasons that they would still cover me. It is just a gamble, I have always been induced so I'm thinking if I hold out I MIGHT make it to the 4th. Just curious if anyone has had this insurance & what your experience was. Anyone cut it close & have it covered? Was it easy to pay out?

holly-lu-ya
01-30-2008, 01:40 PM
:steinigu:

holly-lu-ya
01-30-2008, 01:40 PM
I am doing the aflac coverage too, but its my first time as well. I am due may 19th and my coverage starts May 8th, so I should be able to collect as long as I am not more than 10 days early. Good luck to both of us. I had a friend miss it by a week. That would stink after paying all those premiums.

sweetprettymommy
01-30-2008, 01:44 PM
I did this with my last pregnancy that actually ended at 20 weeks. They still paid out $2550.00 which was a nice surprise. I had two policies; one that covered my hospital stay, so that was the one that paid out. I still have it in effect since if I cancel it, I would have to wait six months to start back up. I was very pleased with how fast they sent me my check. I think it is a good idea. I hope you are able to get them to pay out 100%. Good luck.

clarktami
01-30-2008, 02:42 PM
I was told that they would only cover before 10 months coverage if the baby was born early and not healthy (need NICU) If baby is born healthy and before 10 months, then it is not covered.

JulieE-
01-30-2008, 02:46 PM
Can one of you who have used Aflac PM me some info (agent, prices, what the plan is called. . . any info really). We are thinking of having another baby and I think this plan may be something we want to use. Thanks!

Tressa