Home | Blog | Online Shopping Codes | Coupons 101 | Coupon Lists | Resources | Email Signup | Screaming Penny

Go Back   Pinching Your Pennies Forums > Making CENTS of life! > Penny for your Thoughts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-20-2009, 09:49 AM
LostDad's Avatar
LostDad LostDad is offline
Premier Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mommasue
Ooo thanks for the ad on. Lost dad- where's your wish list so I can send you something?
Um... forgive a PYP n00b... what's a wish list?
__________________


-=Ξ My Wish List Ξ=-

"A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty."
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-20-2009, 09:58 AM
LostDad's Avatar
LostDad LostDad is offline
Premier Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hut00009
There is an add-on that I recommend every Firefox browser should have. It's called Adblock Plus. It gets rid of those annoying ads and banners which makes webpages take longer to load. It also gets rid of those annoying animated flash ads that keep on playing over and over again. It's a very popular Firefox plug-in that has been downloaded at least 37,568,960 times.

Link: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865
I agree. You'll also want to get the Adblock Filterset.G Updater add-on to keep your ad filters current.

Link: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1136

You can even take it one step further and get the Adblock Plus: Element Hiding Helper add-on, which will allow you to block more easily the few ads that get through the filters.

Link: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4364
__________________


-=Ξ My Wish List Ξ=-

"A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty."
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:30 PM
Mommasue's Avatar
Mommasue Mommasue is offline
Premier Penny Pincher/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Jordan, Utah
Posts: 7,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostDad
Um... forgive a PYP n00b... what's a wish list?
Wish List: What coupons are you looking for? I might have some to share with you for doing all this work for us!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-21-2009, 08:52 AM
Aimee's Avatar
Aimee Aimee is offline
Premier Penny Pincher/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8,228
Default Question...

When I am in Internet Explorer, I can go to a place where I "Clear all offline content now". When I do this it makes my computer faster.
Lately I've been using Firefox and I can't seem to find it on Firefox. Does anyone know where to go to do the same thing on Firefox? Or if I go into IE and do it, will it work for Firefox also? Hope this makes sense!
__________________
Aimee
Looking for a discounted Newspaper Subscription in California, Idaho, Nevada or Utah? Send me a private message.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:04 AM
LostDad's Avatar
LostDad LostDad is offline
Premier Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aimee
When I am in Internet Explorer, I can go to a place where I "Clear all offline content now". When I do this it makes my computer faster.
Lately I've been using Firefox and I can't seem to find it on Firefox. Does anyone know where to go to do the same thing on Firefox? Or if I go into IE and do it, will it work for Firefox also? Hope this makes sense!
Click on the 'Tools' menu item, then click on 'Clear Private Data'. Make sure 'Offline Website Data' has a check mark next to it, and click the 'Clear Private Data
Now' button.
__________________


-=Ξ My Wish List Ξ=-

"A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty."
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:09 AM
Aimee's Avatar
Aimee Aimee is offline
Premier Penny Pincher/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostDad
Click on the 'Tools' menu item, then click on 'Clear Private Data'. Make sure 'Offline Website Data' has a check mark next to it, and click the 'Clear Private Data
Now' button.
Thanks for the quick response!!

When I click on "Tools", then "Clear Private Data", these are the options I get:

Browsing History
Download History
Saved Form & Search History
Cache
Cookies
Saved Passwords
Authenticated Sessions

All are automatically checked except for Cookies and Saved Passwords. So should I leave them checked the way they are and "clear private data now"?
Thanks!!
__________________
Aimee
Looking for a discounted Newspaper Subscription in California, Idaho, Nevada or Utah? Send me a private message.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:28 AM
LostDad's Avatar
LostDad LostDad is offline
Premier Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aimee
Thanks for the quick response!!

When I click on "Tools", then "Clear Private Data", these are the options I get:

Browsing History
Download History
Saved Form & Search History
Cache
Cookies
Saved Passwords
Authenticated Sessions

All are automatically checked except for Cookies and Saved Passwords. So should I leave them checked the way they are and "clear private data now"?
Thanks!!
I must be running a different version of Firefox...

I think clearing the cache is mostly what you're after. You may want to keep your browsing and search histories though. I like to keep them so I can go back and find something I looked at before but didn't think to bookmark at the time.
__________________


-=Ξ My Wish List Ξ=-

"A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty."
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:33 AM
Aimee's Avatar
Aimee Aimee is offline
Premier Penny Pincher/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostDad
I must be running a different version of Firefox...

I think clearing the cache is mostly what you're after. You may want to keep your browsing and search histories though. I like to keep them so I can go back and find something I looked at before but didn't think to bookmark at the time.
Maybe I need to update to the latest version or something. Anyway, thanks for the info, it is very helpful!!
__________________
Aimee
Looking for a discounted Newspaper Subscription in California, Idaho, Nevada or Utah? Send me a private message.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-21-2009, 03:37 PM
mizliz0809 mizliz0809 is offline
Master Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostDad
I'm having a hard time visualizing the way you have things connected, so let's start at the wall. You have a cable running from the wall jack to the DSL modem. You have a patch cable running from the DSL modem to the wireless router. You have a USB cable running from the wireless router to the laptop. Is this all correct?

Do you have more than one computer connecting to the internet? If so, which one are you getting the error on?
I have a phone line coming from the phonejack to the DSL routers DSL "input" then the DSL has an ethernet cable that is connected to the wireless router and there is a USB cable coming from the wireless router to the desktop.Nothing is actualy "wired" to the laptop .The desktop and the laptop are the only 2 computers we have. We had it slightly different(don't remember what the differance was though) but when the Verizon tech came out this is how he left it.Hope I am making sense.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-21-2009, 03:42 PM
LostDad's Avatar
LostDad LostDad is offline
Premier Penny Pincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizliz0809
I have a phone line coming from the phonejack to the DSL routers DSL "input" then the DSL has an ethernet cable that is connected to the wireless router and there is a USB cable coming from the wireless router to the desktop.Nothing is actualy "wired" to the laptop .The desktop and the laptop are the only 2 computers we have. We had it slightly different(don't remember what the differance was though) but when the Verizon tech came out this is how he left it.Hope I am making sense.
So which device is getting the error? Laptop or desktop? Or both?
__________________


-=Ξ My Wish List Ξ=-

"A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2004-2011, Pinching Your Pennies, LLC. All rights reserved